Bangladesh Debating Council

Code of Conduct
The Council
Code of Conduct
Guide to Debate
Great Speeches
Team Bangladesh
Pre Worlds
News Articles
Photo Gallery

Debaters will —

  • treat the occasion, each other, and the adjudicators with respect;
  • respect the rules of the competition, particularly relating to secret subject and advised subject preparation;  and
  • accept the adjudicator’s decision.


Debaters will not —

  • disrupt or distract from another debater’s speech or the adjudicator’s comments;
  • use offensive language or behaviour;
  • make denigrating comments on the basis of age, culture, gender, sexuality, disability, religion, family;  or
  • harass their opponents or the adjudicator.


Adjudicators will —

  • treat the outing in a formal and professional manner;
  • limit their adjudications to 10 minutes, and make constructive comments to assist the debaters;  and
  • be sensitive when commenting upon physical or physiological disabilities;


Adjudicators will not —

  • allow bias or personal knowledge to influence their  decisions.


Teachers and the audience will —

  • hear the speakers in reasonable silence;  and
  • encourage and foster a spirit of fair play and good sport.


Teachers and the audience will not —

  • harass debaters and adjudicators before, during or after the debate.


Coaches will —

  • Conduct themselves in a professional manner at all times;
  • Notify Regional Coordinators and the Schools Administrator of any possible conflict between their role as coach and their involvement in any DAV activity.


Coaches will not —

  • Communicate with any BDC representative with the purpose of intimidating them or challenging them in the fulfilment of their role.


Participants will –

  • request and receive permission from both teams, and the adjudicator, and the Host School Coordinator, and the DAV Office before recording any debate in whole or part


Participants will not –

  • use mobile phones to make or receive calls or send text messages during a debate


All rights reserved by Bangladesh Debating Council
Created and maintained by Rashedul Hasan Stalin